# STD - III

## **Social studies**

## Our states and union territories.

## Answer the following questions:-

1. How many directions we have?

Ans:- We have four main directions:-

- (a) North
- (b) South
- (c) East
- (d) West.
- 2. What is a government?

Ans:- Every country is run by a group of people. This group is called the government.

3. How many states and union territories are there in India?

Ans:- There are 28 States and 9 union territories in India.

4. Which is the capital of India?

Ans:- New Delhi is the capital of India.

5. How is a union territory different from a state?

Ans:- A union territory is smaller than a state and it is run by the central government.

6. Why do we have state government?

Ans:- We require a state government because the state government takes care of the people of the state.

7. Name India's northern neighbours.

Ans:- India's northern neighbours are China, Nepal and Bhutan.

8. Write the largest and smallest state area wise in India.

Ans:- Rajasthan is largest and Goa is smallest state (area wise) in India.

### Fill in the blanks:-

- (1) India's eastern neighbours are **Bangladesh** and **Myanmar**.
- (2) The central government of India works from New Delhi.

- (3)India has 28 states and 9 union territories.
- (4) The chief minister is the part of the state government.
- (5)The largest state of India is Rajasthan.
- (6) The union territories are run by the central government.

